Return to CATALYST Backpack SHIPS FREE to US ADDRESSES
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
My favorite pack of the last 60 years. August 13, 2017
Reviewer: Barry Wohl from Sheridan, WY United States  
I've been backpacking since 1957, and I've owned: Kelty A4 external frame, Gregory Wind River, Monolite, Ospray, Kelty Cloud 65, AND MANY MORE.  For 15 to 35 lb, my Catalyst feels the best on my back.  I've used it on about 20 trips from 2 to 8 nights over the last four hiking seasons.  I'm no longer looking for anything better.  Along the way, my other equipment has gotten lighter and smaller, so I have extra space in my Catalyst.  AND I got to upgrade my waist belt to one size smaller as I shrunk too.  Happy days.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
JMT Thru-Hike March 12, 2017
Reviewer: Todd from Longmont, CO United States  
I was fortunate enough to snag one of these packs when it was offered in Cuben Fiber. What an awesome pack! It easily and comfortably handled my JMT thru-hike last summer, including carrying my Bearikade Weekender. Very comfortable, and tough. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent Pack! January 8, 2017
Reviewer: Mark Weidinger from Prather, CA United States  
Excellent, high value pack at a good price. Coming from running 55+ lb loads in my faithful Dana Alpine, I was concerned about the suspension system and load comfort, but it worked fantastically on 7 day Sierra trip starting with 42 total lbs. and dropping as food and fuel (and bourbon) was depleted. Seems like this pack’s sweet spot is about 25-30lbs.  

Everything about this pack has been so well thought out, from how it packs and rides, the storage options, and accessing your gear. It’s also a sweet looking pack with more volume than I will likely ever need. I got the large with large belt and regular straps, run a Zpacks Cuben dry bag as a liner (2oz), dropped the hand straps and bladder pocket. Fyi I’m 56yrs, 6ft, 215lbs with longer torso.

After 40 years of backpacking I’m finally lightening up, and can’t endorse this pack and ULA gear enough. Thanks ULA!


Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Versatile and Comfortable Pack September 2, 2016
Reviewer: Axel W from Duvall, WA United States  
I have used the pack for a number of different trips, but recently took the pack on a  7 mile hike with 2300 vertical feet with a full 40 lbs of gear (well, probably 45 lbs) with a 500 ft climb over 200 yards in the middle and a corresponding climb back down the next day.  The Catalyst worked great even with a full load +!  The hip belt kept the weight off of my shoulders, which allowed me to climb over and under logs, grab roots on the way up, and keep my balance on the way down.  Thanks ULA for making a great pack that works with 40 pounds or 20 pounds of gear!  PNW fan!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
First trip, pack worked great August 21, 2016
Reviewer: David Marshall from Oregon, United States  
I finally took the break in trip with my new Catalyst.  The trip was not long, but gained 2400 ft in 4 miles with the end result being beautiful Maxwell lake in the Eagle Cap Wilderness.  

The pack performed very well with a trail weight of 28 pounds.  In the past, I've had to tinker with my packs to dial them in over multiple trips.  After following the YouTube set up and fitting videos, the pack fit and worked like a charm.

While I'll keep chipping away my pack's trail weight, the Catalyst is flexible enough to go both lighter and a bit heavier for early summer Cascade volcano climbs.

The Catalyst is a great combination of light weight and versatility.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Still backpacking at 60 years old July 27, 2016
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Seattle, WA United States  
I was hesitant to buy this pack for two reasons. One I couldn't try it  and second it didn't have all the pockets of other packs.  After 7 days out- I can say I love this pack.  The customer service was excellent.  But most importantly it carried weight fantastically. The lack of pockets did not bother me.  When I was in my 20's and 30's I could hike 12-14 miles with a 55 pound pack.  In my 40's and 50's it became a 40-45 pound pack. Now at 60. I am comfortable hiking 14 miles a day with a 33 pound back .  Looking forward to going lighter but for now- The Catalyst carries my load. I choose the catalyst over other styles because I do hike internationally and need to put my pack on a plane.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Overall Pack May 1, 2016
Reviewer: Brian from Big Bear, Ca United States  
I have had the opportunity to use this pack a handful of times in the past few months since I purchased it. I love it. I did my homework on several packs and settled on this one. The primary reason I purchased was for thru-hiking and other types of backpacking in outdoor areas. I was also looking for a pack that would translate well to other types of urban backpacking and international travel and it has done all I have wanted and more. It is very comfortable, versatile and has a great balance of lightweight and durability that I wanted. I know I will have this pack for a long time I highly recommend the catalyst.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Catalyst trial April 13, 2016
Reviewer: Stephen Stone from Pace, FL United States  
My old pack finally gave out and I needed a new one for a 6 day trip to Yosemite in September. The pack came on Friday and on Saturday I took it on a two day 20 mile trip. I carried my gear plus my 8 year old daughters gear. It put the load on my hips better than my old one, weighs half as much and withstood some bushwacking without any tears. I am very pleased with the pack.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great pack, great service! January 31, 2016
Reviewer: Peter from New York  
As a owner of the excellent circuit pack, the catalyst is essentially the big brother of the two and is great if your going on longer outings or winter hiking. In addition to the pack, I also ordered the new shoulder strap pockets which I highly recommend! Just write which color you prefer in the comments and they can match your ULA pack color. The pocket is perfect for a smart phone and other items you need to gain quick access to. Also I'd like to note the excellent customer service I received. I originally received a smaller hydration sleeve with my pack that didn't fit my hydration bladder. After contacting ULA they sent me a bigger, wider hydration sleeve free of charge!

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
light, capacious, comfortable and easy to pack September 3, 2015
Reviewer: laure manheimer from new york, NY United States  
i am 120 lbs and 5 feet 5 going for a week backpacking trip at 10-12,000 feet in the Sierra Nevada. to replace my old backpack, . i chose a Calayst, size small, S curve. . And it is all it promised to deliver and more.  It is light,simple to pack.  the main compartment is wide enough to accommodate a sleeping bag without spending 10 mns  compressing it into a tiny roll (as in the Osprey).  it is wide enough to easily insert a bear canister horizontally + all my clothing

gear to stay dry and warm + everything else i would need during the day all fit on outside pockets easily reachable without opening the main compartment. Two capacious hipbelt pockets keep all the immediate stuff within easy reach without removing backpack. On an outside loop i put my tent and my sleeping pad. it was all so easy to pack.  And it is COMFORTABLE.

Everything - excluding water in my camel back and the canister full of food- weighed 19 lbs!  it was just perfect. and the staff is VERY helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items
\